AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

How can I use javascript in pandorabots (playground)

Hello, i am new to aiml.

I learned aiml a few weeks ago and now i want to put javascript coding in aiml ( i saw that it is possible using javasript tags) but when i do it in pandorabots it is not working. Why? and if it is not possible to use javascript in pandorabots is there an aiml editor that can do it ?

By the way, i am using a macbook ( if that is helpful ).

Thanks alot!!
George

[ # 1 ]

I do not believe you can use javascript in the AIML editor on Pandorabots playground.  You can call an external web service using the <sraix> tag.  You could create and host your own service and call that and the language you use to create the service functionality is up to you.  Pandorabots lets you edit the html file for the client web page for your chatbot.  You can add javascript to that file.  You can preprocess the user input using javascript before sending it as input to be processed by AIML.  You can use javascript in the html file to evaluate the AIML response and process [OOB] tags before displaying the output to the user.

What do you want to do with javascript in an AIML file? 

Using AIML you can:
1) “Reduce” / call another pattern/ call the same pattern or use recursion using the SRAI tag (~1000) times
2) Test a condition using an equals operator and branch based on it
3) Loop (100 times)

[ # 2 ]

I want to make my bot do commands such as window.open(”“) of function popup and stuff like that. However I do not understand how to use the <sraix> tags you told me about. Can you show me a simple example?

[ # 3 ]

It seems to me that Pandorabots used to allow JavaScript within the AIML itself, but that was a while ago. I don’t know if that’s still the case. I suggest trying something like this:

<category>
  <
pattern>GOOGLE *</pattern>
  <