AI Zone Admin Forum Add your forum

NEWS: Chatbots.org survey on 3000 US and UK consumers shows it is time for chatbot integration in customer service!read more..

How to jump to another topic?

Hello,

I am new to chatscript and I wanted to ask a few specific questions regarding “how to manage the flow of the conversation”

1. This is an important one: I don’t know how to hard code the flow of a part of the conversation. In particular: I don’t know how to make the bot jump to another topic when a particular answer has been given USING gambit.

Look at the following code:

topic: ~firsttopic keep (~concept1)

u: () Something something
 a
: (~conceptAFirst Option. ^gambitsecondtopic )

a: (~conceptBSecond Option. ^gambitthirdtopic )

topic: ~secondtopic keep ()

topic: ~thirdtopic keep () 

I would like the second a: to make the bot jump straight to ~thirdtopic. As it stands, it would go to ~secondtopic instead.
So far, I think I’ve made it work using variables - so that it checks if a variable exists and is not null in order to be allowed to move on to another topic.

topic: ~firsttopic keep (~concept1)

u: () Something something
 a
: (~conceptA$answer1 _0 First Option. ^gambitsecondtopic )

a: (~conceptB$answer2 _0 Second Option. ^gambitthirdtopic )

topic: ~secondtopic keep (~answer1)

topic: ~thirdtopic keep (~answer2

However, I would not like it do it that way. I would like to “hard code” transitions to another topic using gambit. I have tried in many ways but it does not work. I could not get anything out of the documentation either.

Is that actually possible? If so, how do I do this?

[ # 1 ]

Did you try the example in the advanced user manual, around page 28

u: ( some test ) I like fruit and vegetables. ^reuse(COMMON) And so do you.

and page 54

u: SELF (where * you * live) ^disable(RULE SELF) ^reuse(HOUSE)

here is something close:

“Now, suppose you want to notice that you already told the user about the house